SEA has an outstanding and involved faculty with a strong commitment to teaching. These scientists, mariners, and scholars have come to SEA to share their enthusiasm for ocean science, ships, and the sea. SEA faculty respect the value of cooperative learning, which gives our programs a personal quality. These professionals have all worked at sea and understand the challenges and rewards of living in and studying the world offshore.

SEA captains and chief scientists lead the teaching crew on board the vessels. All shipboard staff are chosen for their experience, teaching skills and commitment to SEA’s approach to education. Students work closely with them, learning from each and every member of the crew. The SEA faculty is augmented by visiting scholars and lecturers, who on occasion serve as year-long replacements for faculty members on sabbatical.

Dean

  • Dr. Mark H. Long

    Academic Dean

    mlong@sea.edu

Administration

  • Abby Elder

    Academic Programs Coordinator

    aelder@sea.edu

  • Jeff David

    Director of Student Affairs

    jdavid@sea.edu

  • Captain Christopher D. Nolan

    Captain, Assistant Professor of Nautical Science, Special Projects

    cnolan@sea.edu

Maritime Studies/Ocean Policy

  • Ben Kochan

    Visiting Assistant Professor of Maritime Studies

    bkochan@sea.edu

  • Dr. Craig Marin

    Associate Professor of Maritime Studies

    cmarin@sea.edu

  • Dr. Richard King

    Visiting Associate Professor, Maritime History and Literature

    rking@sea.edu

  • Dr. Jeffrey Wescott

    Associate Professor of Anthropology and Ocean Policy

    jwescott@sea.edu

  • Erin Bryant, Esq., M.M.A., M.S.Ed.

    Associate Professor of Ocean and Coastal Policy

    ebryant@sea.edu

Oceanography

  • Véronique Carignan (née Oldham)

    Assistant Professor of Oceanography

    vcarignan@sea.edu

  • Dr. Sarah Kingston

    Assistant Professor of Oceanography

    skingston@sea.edu

  • Dr. Kara Lavender Law

    Research Professor of Oceanography

    klavender@sea.edu

  • Dr. Heather Page

    Assistant Professor of Oceanography

    hpage@sea.edu

  • Dr. Jeffrey M. Schell

    Professor of Oceanography

    jschell@sea.edu

  • Dr. Jan Witting

    Professor of Oceanography

    jwitting@sea.edu

Nautical Science

  • Kevin Murray

    Assistant Professor of Nautical Science

    kmurray@sea.edu

  • Captain Sean S. Bercaw, M.M.A.

    Visiting Assistant Professor of Nautical Science

    sbercaw@sea.edu

  • Captain Bill Burke

    Visiting Assistant Professor of Nautical Science

  • Captain Allison Taylor

    Assistant Professor of Nautical Science

    ataylor@sea.edu

  • Captain Gregory Wisener

    Visiting Professor of Nautical Science

    gwisener@sea.edu

  • Captain Christopher D. Nolan

    Captain, Assistant Professor of Nautical Science, Special Projects

    cnolan@sea.edu